Top PGA Plays - Genesis Open ⛳️

Our PGA Newsletter is Fan-Manned by Golf Expert and LineStarApp volunteer CoachSzustak. Hope you enjoy it!

Riviera Country Club Course - Course Info ⛳️

Welcome to the Sixth edition of the Drive. Our goal here is to help you break down the upcoming PGA event. This is the Genesis Open with the cut coming after 36 holes.. This tournament is played at Riviera Country Club. Riviera is a beautiful course with tree lined fairways and fast greens, 7,322 yards par 71. It is longer than last weeks courses and I feel is tougher than the others (Pebble is Close). I don’t see super low scores this week and I am going to targeting some of the longer hitters.

Keys To The Course 🔑

Looking at players who finished in the top 5 over recent history at PGA events played at the current course(s) and which common stats contributed to those top 5 players doing well.

Top 3 Stats For This Tournament:

  1. Putting Average

  2. Greens In Regulation

  3. Scrambling

  • Chez Reavie

  • Justin Thomas

  • Brian Gay

  • Daniel Berger

  • Kevin Chappell

  • Jhonattan Vegas

  • Aaron Wise

  • Andrew Landry

  • Adam Hadwin

  • Brendan Steele

Studs 🔥

DJ looking great again this week

  1. Dustin Johnson (12.9k FD/11.9k DK): Same thing as last week (it may be costly, but I have learned if he plays I want him). He is 7/9 making the cut @ Riviera, and has won this event once. In his 9 trips to Riviera he has 1 win, 5 top 5’s and 6 tops 10’s. Vegas favorite again this week. He didn’t play all that great on Sunday last week but still took a T-2.

  2. Paul Casey (11.6k FD/10.2k DK): When I say I’m avoiding someone, I usually follow them closer than the guys in my lineup as I hate to be wrong. However I will say I was wrong on Casey last week, he played well and earned a spot in the studs selection.

  3. Justin Thomas (11.6k FD/10.2k DK): This guy can hit it far off the tee (ranked #2 in the field over the past month in driving distance). With this course a lot of the guys are going to be playing from the rough, I’ll take the ones who are playing from the rough and closer to the green.

Mid-Price Value Plays 💰

Bargain Barrel 🍀

  1. Brandon Harkins (8.6k FD/6.8k DK): This is his 5 event in a row. He is obviously confident in his game and trying to strike while in form. He is averaging 304 off the tee, we’ll need that distance this week.

  2. Bud Cauley (8.9k FD/6.7k DK): He intrigues me, there is something about his game/ price that I think can be a gamble. At this price I’ll take that gamble.

  3. Jhonattan Vegas (8.5k FD/7.2k DK): So he is #10 in the field in putting, and has made the cut here 4 times in 5 trips. Solid stats and will probably be a staple in my cash lineups this week.

Avoids

It would not be a complete article if I didn’t tell you who I am avoiding. I like to go through and take guys out of the pool that I really don’t like THIS WEEK. Here are my 2 for this week.

Let’s make it a point to try and get into the chat room this week, we have a great resource there that isn’t getting used as much as it should. If you have any question head on over and ask either me or the room in general. We are all in the same community and I am rooting for us all. I love when I see the LineStar users win, I love it more when I hear about it.

How'd we do? Use the 👍/👎 to let us know...