Top PGA Plays - The Masters ⛳️

As always, Props to CoachSzustak on another great PGA newsletter! 👏  

  • 1st - $50 Paypal

  • 2nd-3rd - Your Choice of 1month Linestar Premium or Tee or Hat!

DM us on Twitter to claim your prize.

Get down on LineStar PGA Chat for the lowdown from experts. 

Augusta National - Intelligence Report ⛳️

Welcome to this week's edition of The Drive. Our goal here is to help you break down the upcoming PGA event. This is it, finally the first major of the season, The Masters @ Augusta National, it is a long but wide course coming in at 7,435 yards par of 72. I do see some weather concerns in the forecast, as Saturday is rain with 19 mph winds. The masters is a little different when it comes to cutline, the top 50 and anyone within 10 shots will make the cut. Course history is key here I can’t stress it enough, that is the major thing I always look at when breaking down the field at the Masters. Beware this article may seem a little chalky, but you need studs. I’m avoiding anyone who hasn’t played this event in their career and also looking heavy to past winners and average placing. 

Keys To The Masters 🔑

Looking at players who finished in the top 5 over recent history at PGA events played at the current course(s) and which common stats contributed to those top 5 players doing well.

Top 3 Stats For This Tournament:

  1. Scrambling 

  2. Putting Average 

  3. Driving Accuracy

  1. Tyrrell Hatton 

  2. Henrik Stenson 

  3. Rory McIlroy 

  4. Justin Rose* 

  5. Kevin Chappell 

  6. Sergio Garcia 

  7. Paul Casey 

  8. Ryan Moore 

  9. Tiger Woods* 

  10. Daniel Berger*

* = Mentioned below

Studs 🔥

  1. Tiger Woods (11.5k FD 10k DK) To expect a win here is lofty, however I expect him to be in contention thru sunday. He knows the course and won here 4 times. He has been one of the best putters on tour this season and has excelled on Augusta’s difficult greens. I’ll take the bait and the chalk and rostering him.

  2. Justin Rose (11.4k FD/9.2k DK) I feel like he is always in my article anymore. Look at current form and course history here, he has been close many times. It would not surprise me to see him get over the hump and put on the green jacket come sunday. 2nd, 10th, 2nd, and 14th in last 4 trips to Augusta.

  3. Jordan Spieth (11k FD/10.4k DK) If I could just be right on this guy once, PLEASE let it be this week. I know what I said last week, but even more important I know what I saw last week. He’s in good form putts are starting to fall and no one can match the success he has enjoyed here. 11th, 2nd, 1st, and 2nd in his only 4 trips here (do I need to mention course history again). 

Mid-Price Value Plays 💰

Bubba a top tier competitor this week!

Bargain Barrel 🍀

Hoffman has a lot going for him this week, esp. given the price!

  1. Charley Hoffman (9k FD/7.1k DK) 4/4 on cuts here and his last 3 trips finished 22nd, 29th, and 9th. From a price point side of things I really like the potential return value here.

  2. Kiradech Aphibarnrat (8.4k FD/7.1k DK) Excited to see if he can continue his solid play on the big stage. Finished in 15th place here 2 years ago and has continued to have success this year overseas. I would love to see another top 20 out of him this week.

  3. Fred Couples (7.9k FD/6.7k DK) Ok before you give up on me completely please note this is a guy I have had in at least 1 lineup every year for the Masters since I start playing DFS golf. I know he is 58 years young, and has a bad back. In 3 of his last 4 trips to the Masters he has finished in the top 20. In 25 trips to the Masters his average finishing place in 26th place making the cut 22/25 times. That’s enough for me to think he is definitely worth rostering a small amount in Couples. 

*Avoid list gone this week* I will be taking a week off of the avoid list to try and test some new theories. As my avoid section of the article isn’t up to the standard I expect.

I hope you find some value in this article and as always, MAY YOUR LINEUPS BE LIVE AND SCREENS BE GREEN!  

Need more advice/ideas? Get into the PGA live chat!

Join our $50 Freeroll on DraftKings, completely free to play! 

How'd we do? Use the 👍/👎 to let us know...