Top PGA Plays - Waste Management Phoenix Open @ TPC Scottsdale Stadium Course

Our PGA Newsletter is Fan-Manned by Golf Expert and LineStarApp volunteer CoachSzustak. Hope you enjoy it!

TPC Scottsdale Stadium Course - Course Info

Welcome to the 4th edition of the Drive. Our goal here is to help you break down the upcoming PGA event. This is the Phoenix Open @ TPC Scottsdale with a cut coming after 36 holes. According to the forecast they are calling for a great week for golf low wind and no precipitation. The course is a par 71, distance is 7266 yards. It is loud it gets crazy, especially on Coors Light sponsored hole 16 aka "The Greatest Show On Grass". This is one of the more fun events to watch because of the craziness. There are 3 par fives here and they are all reachable, par 5 scoring is a must as is overall ball striking. Winning score here should be around (-15). If you don’t put yourself in position to make a lot of birdies you won’t be in contention.

Very fun tournament to watch. If you're looking to get more into PGA, this is it!

Keys To The Course

This section will be limited to courses where we have course history. We look at players who finished in the top 5 over recent history at PGA events played at the current course(s) and which common stats contributed to those top 5 players doing well.

Top 3 Stats For This Tournament:

  1. Greens In Regulation

  2. Scrambling

  3. Driving Distance

  • William McGirt

  • Kevin Streelman

  • Brendan Steele

  • Jason Kokrak

  • Tony Finau

  • Kevin Chappell

  • Bud Cauley

  • Ryan Palmer

  • Chez Reavie

  • Justin Thomas

Jordan Spieth's key to ball control.... tempo

Studs

  1. Hideki Matsuyama (12.4k FD/11.5k DK): If you look at course history you have to be on him this week. 3 tops 5 finishes in 3 trips, including back to back wins. I’m not saying he is a lock to win, I’m saying he loves this course and plays great. Oh yeah he is the Vegas favorite also.

  2. Jordan Spieth (12.5k FD/11.4k DK): He ranks #1 in field in GIR, and this is an easier place to putt so I look for him to have plenty of birdies this week. He has 2 top 10’s in 2 events here. I look for a third this week.

  3. Jon Rahm (12.2k FD/11.k DK): I was torn between him and Fowler here but unlike last week I won’t ignore course history this week. He has played well here and I believe he will capitalize on the par 5’s and make some noise. He embraces the crowd on 16, he played college golf there and the fans love him.

Mid-Price Value Plays

Bargain Barrel

  1.  Kevin Streelman (8.6k FD/6.8k DK) He is 3rd in the field in GIR. Scoring opportunity is what I want this week and he will give himself that. Buyer beware he is 5/9 on making the cut at his course but his ball striking has been on point this year.

  2. Sung Kang (8k FD/ 7.1k DK) He is 2/2 on cuts made in this event, at his price if I can get a guy to play all week I roster him and run. He definitely has the putter going this year, but has struggled in other areas. Bottom line too cheap to pass up.

  3. Morgan Hoffman (7.6k FD/6.6k DK): Okay I know vegas has him at 1 in 400 shot to win this week, but he is 3/3 making the cut in this event. I like him for all the same things I said about Kang. making the cut at this price opens the door for studs elsewhere in the lineup.

Avoids

It would not be a complete article if I didn’t tell you who I am avoiding. I like to go through and take guys out of the pool that I really don’t like THIS WEEK. Here are my 2 for this week.

I hope you find some value in this article and as always, MAY YOUR LINEUPS BE LIVE AND SCREENS BE GREEN 🍀🍀🍀

How'd we do? Use the 👍/👎 to let us know...